Open eyes, closed mouth, throbbing heart

by Christopher Paré

I’ve been listening to the news on my way to and from work for the past few weeks.  It’s enlightening and depressing all at the same time.

I spent my adolescence avoiding the news, and pretty much everything outside of the subculture that I had entrenched myself in.  In 2009 I left the United States for the first time in five years.  I left my parents at the airport and spent the next two months living with a family that didn’t speak english (for more from the trip see the blog I wrote while I was over there http://myselfgone.blogspot.com/).  In short, my whole world exploded.  I had finally allowed myself to see more of the expanse that is Earth and it was on that journey that I decided to be more informed about the world around me.

That decision has born a variety of fruit.  Many of my convictions were deepened as a result of opening my eyes, but my approach to voicing those convictions has changed dramatically.  I try to take my time to speak my mind now rather than blurting out every opinion that I have.  I may have swung way too far to the other end though.

I process through dialogue so my recent trend of just keeping my mouth shut has proved to be detrimental.   I think blogging will ultimately be an incredibly healthy discipline, but I’m still trying to discern exactly what I am to do here.  I may just have to dive in and write about what’s on my mind.  I think I’ll go back through my posts and expound on some of the topics I have alluded to so far.

